Monday, October 13, 2008

Around The World (50)

Hello, Around the Worldmusics returns to the source with a twist because whats on today is two very different approaches/reflections of the dubreggae input of the sixties and seventies. Adrian Sherwood build a well acclaimed label on his productionwork, though it took the internet to really bring it home as before, in the eighties, the On U sound was considered marginal..alas..Still they kept going and their independance..What we have here is a mix album of sorts the grand old masterproducer did giving an overview of 25 years of ON U.....Technokillers Basic Channel never were that far away from dub when slowing down their strict 4-to-the-floor beat into a hypnotising slowmotion their Rhythm and Sound 12"s and cd compilations attracted ever more attention from the reggae dubscene and meanwhile they've gained much respect therein. Listening to their beats almost has you high without the weed. On See Mi Jah they bring on some oldskool Studio One singers together with some Berlin based singers to vocalise the album....another superb result and give that bassknob a swing...

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Rhythm & Sound - See Mi Yah ( 05 ^ 99mb)

The awesome production talents of Mark Ernestus and Moritz von Oswald have already set the world ablaze once, twice, three, four times with the seminal work as Basic Channel and the splintering into microscopic, heavyweight offshoots by way of the M series (Maurizio on proud display), Main Street (Chicago rhythms floating into dub), Chain Reaction (reduced, spacious techno blueprints), Rhythm and Sound (largely instrumental dub coloured mountains of space) and, of course, Burial Mix (vocalists brought forth, reggae re-invented). It's hard to over-emphasise just how important this music has been on everything that has taken place in electronic music since. 

Rhythm & Sound released a series of 10" records on Burial Mix and 12" records on Rhythm & Sound, both labels distributed by Hardwax. Von Oswald and Ernestus' Rhythm & Sound recordings are much more dub-influenced and less techno-orientated. The late-'90s Rhythm & Sound productions emphasized the dub-reggae aesthetic Thus, the Rhythm & Sound records, which often featured reggae vocalist Paul St. Hilaire(Tikiman), weren't quite as popular or well-known as the duo's Basic Channel recordings, which instead retained their popularity over the years, becoming quite legendary and oft-cited within the techno scene. Nonetheless, Von Oswald and Ernestus' Rhythm & Sound work prevailed into the early 2000s, being compiled onto listener-friendly CDs, Showcase (1998) and Rhythm & Sound (2001). The Versions (2003) See my Jah (2005) Powerful revisions of the dub sound, stripped down, full of space, dynamic range, and shimmering with analog wash and broken textures. The hallucinating, strict 4-to-the-floor beat of techno was sacrificed for a unique sound, hallucinations in slowmotion. It's the improbable connecting factor between the stern German electronic heritage of Karlheinz Stockhausen and Kraftwerk and the loose Caribbean culture . Dirty, deep and powerful , in short essential roots dub. 

"See Mi Yah" is a classic one riddim album, using a riddim that is as much rooted in their technodub works as it is in their more dub-reggae oriented work. Opening this album is Studio One veteran Willie Williams who contributes the title track "See Mi Yah" what follows is an aural trip and a must have for any serious reggae, roots and dub listener.

01 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Willi Williams - See Mi Yah (3:56)
02 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Jah Cotton - Dem Never Know (3:56)
03 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Koki - Rise And Praise (3:48)
04 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Freddy Mellow - Truly (4:11)
05 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Rod Of Iron - Lightning Storm (5:50)
06 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Sugar Minott - Let Jah Love Come (5:12)
07 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Walda Gabriel - Boss Man (3:33)
08 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Bobbo Shanti - Poor People Must Work (3:29)
09 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Ras Donovan & Ras Perez - Let We Go (4:26)
10 - Rhythm & Sound feat.Paul St. Hilaire - Free For All (4:26)
11 - Rhythm & Sound - See Mi Version (4:00)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

VA - On-U Sound Crash, (Adrian Sherwood's Slash & Mix) (06 ^ 139mb)

On-U Sound Crash' is a mix compilation Adrian Sherwood iniytially did for Beat Records(Japan) .It featues re-sequenced back-catalogue tracks, overlaid with additional samples and other snippets from his On-U Sound and Hitrun archive. The tracks featured are often segued or parts of different original versions spliced together. To long term ONU Sound followers, it is doubtful this album will be indispensible or an essential purchase since it compiles old catalogue material -- and though it is presented as a remix album, a few "woooshes" swirling sounds and "pings" overdubbed here and there on original tracks does not really meet the definition of a remix release. 

This album compiles old On-U Sound catalogue material presented as a megamix with minimal overdubs and shows what kind of an evolution a label can go through in 25 years. The mix takes you from ONU's post punk Slits period , with the PIL influenced Vivienne Goldmann/Viv Albertine "Private Armies" composition. Members of John Lydon's PIL and The Slits hammer out this track, which sounds like an outtake from the groundbreaking "Metal Box." Onto the highlights from Adrian Sherwood's influential On-U-Sound label feature loads of dub workouts from Gary Clail, Tackhead, New Age Steppers, Bim Sherman, Mark Stewart & The Mafia, Dub Syndicate, Dr. Pablo, African Headcharge and many others. Keeping in mind that this release holds a selection taken from the label's complete back catalogue, there is of course some clutter inserted but on the whole the material holds well the road. For diehard ONU Sound completists and relative newcomers who want a reliable overview and introduction to the strange pleasures and distortions of AMS's label.

01 - Dub Syndicate (Feat. Lee Perry) - Jungle Pt. 4 (2:21)
02 - New Age Steppers - Private Armies (Dub) (1:45)
03 - Gary Clail - 2 Thieves And A Liar (3:08)
04 - Mark Stewart & Maffia - Liberty City (1:29)
05 - Doctor Pablo & Dub Syndicate - Man Of Mystery (1:16)
06 - Dub Syndicate - Hey Ho (1:38)
07 - Dub Syndicate (Feat. Lee Perry)- Dubbing Psycho Thriller (2:05)
08 - African Head Charge - Hole In The Roof (2:09)
09 - Noah House Of Dread - Stand Firm (0:25)
10 - Dub Syndicate - Chemical Head (0:17)
11 - Tackhead - Mind At The End Of The Tether (1:29)
12 - Prince Far I, Creation Rebel & Bim Sherman - Frontline Version (Tribulation Dub) (2:13)
13 - Congo Ashanti Roy & Singers & Players - African Blood (2:37)
14 - Prince Far I / Singers & Players - Virgin (0:52)
15 - Creation Rebel - Beware (1:56)
16 - Creation Rebel - Creation In A Iration (0:17)
17 - Noah House Of Dread - Sellasie I (1:29)
18 - African Head Charge - Conspiring (1:59)
19 - Mark Stewart & Maffia - Jerusalem (1:34)
20 - Bim Sherman & Singers & Players - Revolution (1:42)
21 - New Age Steppers My Whole World (2:04)
22 - Mark Stewart & Maffia - Beneath The City Streets (0:52)
23 - Gary Clail & Barmy Army - Privatise The Air, Stadium Rock (2:10)
24 - Gary Clail & Andy Fairley - Half Cut For Confidence, Jack The Biscuit (2:11)
25 - Mark Stewart - These Things Happen (1:56)
26 - Congo Ashanti Roy & Singers & Players - Breaking Down The Pressure (2:37)
27 - Creation Rebel - African Space (1:51)
28 - Bim Sherman - Slummy Ghetto (2:12)
29 - Creation Rebel - The Dope (1:31)
30 - African Head Charge - In The Air (2:02)
31 - African Head Charge - Dinosaur's Lament (3:47)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
All downloads are in * ogg-7 (224k) or ^ ogg-9(320k), artwork is included , if in need get the nifty ogg encoder/decoder here !

No comments:

Post a Comment