Saturday, December 22, 2007

Sundaze, (11)

Hello Sundazers, today i have a special X-mas post, after all that awful muzak that gets on peoples nerves...and when like meets like at Xmasday those nerves enhance eachother and go pop, so i promise you with todays music as Xmas muzak things will stay decent and provide a frosty fresh atmosphere as back ground to the smells of food and the sound of laughter and will keep the agitation in check.
Now then The Beating of Wings was my Xmas record of 84 , i planned to supplement it with True Love Waits, classical piano renditions of Radiohead songs, but...i couldnt find it searching is not my strong point but i made a substantial effort, i decided to fall back on another Andrew Poppy album, Alphabed..well after all that had been ripped recoded and uploaded, i sat down to watch some tele, with a knawing come i couldnt find the cd i know i had in my hand just a week ago when planning tonights post...another search drive and this time, even time to code it there you have it..Happy X mas , btw Rhotation continues as usual this week.

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Andrew Poppy studied music at Royal Holloway College and Goldsmiths College University of London, studying piano and earning a B.M. degree in piano performance. One of the least internationally known of British minimalist composers, Poppy was a founding member (in 1981) of The Lost Jockey, a large ensemble dedicated to the performance of new works by British composers composed in the style of such composers as Philip Glass, Steve Reich, and Louis Andriessen. He wrote a number of works for the ensemble including, "The Object is a Hungry Wolf". In the mid 1980s he signed to Paul Morley and Trevor Horn's ZTT Records. Pursuing a post minimal aesthetic in the context of a pop label he recorded 2 CDs. "Alphabed" merges traditional composition and studio production techniques in its use of sequencers, samples and electronic keyboards and includes a variety of singers including Annette Peacock, Ashley Slater, Udo Scheuerpflug and Dee Lewis

He contributed orchestral arrangements to Force The Hand of Chance, the first album by the group Psychic TV which was released on WEA Records in 1982. Over the last two decades Poppy has worked in the studio with bands such as The The, Erasure, Nitzer Ebb as well as making theatre scores for Julia Bardsley's productions of Macbeth and Family Reunion and Kenneth Branagh's perfomance of Coriolanious. The list of choreographies provoked to make dances to Poppy's music include Ian Spink, Sally Owen, Michael Clark, Gaby Agis, Sue Davies, Linda Gaudreau, Julia Bardsley, Michael Popper, David Massingham and most recently New Yorker Heidi Latsky. He has also made music for TV and film - notably with Portugese director and producer Vitor Gonçalves - and between 1995-97 he was head of music at the National Film and TV School in the UK. The year 2000 saw the CD release of Time At Rest Devouring It's Secret, a studio work of 35 minutes duration which once again connects the musical techniques of the minimalist project to an image from popular culture.

Andrew Poppy - The Beating Of Wings (84 ^ 99mb)

1 - The Object Is A Hungry Wolf (12:27)
2 - 32 Frames For Orchestra (8:38)
3 - Listening In (13:01)
4 - Cadenza (14:31)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Andrew Poppy - Alphabed (A Mystery Dance) (87 ^ 99mb)

1 - 45 Is (Voc. Sheila Smith , Udo Scheuerpflug) (20:37)
2 - Goodbye Mr G (Voc. A.Peacock, A.Slater, D.Lewis, J.Favier) (14:34)
3 - The Amusement (Voc. Sheila Smith , Udo Scheuerpflug) (6:34)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Christopher O'Riley - True Love Waits (03 ^ 145mb)

O’Riley was born in 1956 in Chicago, Illinois and grew up in Evanston, Illinois. He studied classical piano at the New England Conservatory of Music. He has received sebveral awards at competitions. O'Riley' s debut album, a collection of the works of Ferruccio Busoni, was released in 1983. He has since released several recordings, including works of Maurice Ravel, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Jean-Philippe Rameau, John Adams, Igor Stravinsky, and Alexander Scriabin, as well as a recording of Rhapsody in Blue with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

O'Riley is the host of the weekly National Public Radio program From the Top, one of if not the most popular classical music show on the air today. O'Riley first began performing Radiohead songs as a intermezzo during a break in the program, to supplement preludes and miniatures by composers such as Debussy and Rachmaninoff. Many of those short classical pieces are found on his CD release At the Break.

True Love Waits: Christopher O'Riley Plays Radiohead was released in 2003. O'Riley's second Radiohead-derived album, Hold Me To This, followed two years later and contains a different selection of songs. In 2006, he released a piano tribute to Elliott Smith, Home to Oblivion, again featuring his own arrangements.

O'Riley claims his own piano arrangements have introduced the music of Radiohead to an ignorant classical audience as well as introducing classical music to a wider or younger audience, as he sometimes performs both standard concert repertoire, such as Shostakovich or Mozart, and Radiohead, Elliott Smith or Nick Drake interpretations at the same concert. O'Riley describes himself as an obsessed Radiohead fan in interviews, and says he was attracted to the multilayered nature of the band's music, leading him to listen and transcribe lesser known album tracks, live bootleg recordings of performances, b-sides, and even songs never officially released, as well as some of their hit singles.

01 - Everything In It's Right Place (4:07)
02 - Knives Out (4:38)
03 - Black Star (3:35)
04 - Karma Police (4:37)
05 - Let Down (5:32)
06 - Airbag (3:47)
07 - Subterranean Homesick Alien (4:15)
08 - Thinking About You (2:00)
09 - Exit Music (For A Film) (4:29)
10 - You (2:56)
11 - Bulletproof (3:02)
12 - Fake Plastic Trees (4:58)
13 - I Can't (2:38)
14 - True Love Waits (5:01)
15 - Motion Picture Soundtrack (4:49)

diet version
Christopher O'Riley - True Love Waits (03 * 99mb)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
All downloads are in * ogg-7 (224k) or ^ ogg-9(320k), artwork is included , if in need get the nifty ogg encoder/decoder here

No comments:

Post a Comment