Thursday, December 20, 2007

Into the Groove, (10)

Hello, time for some 'down to earth' funk from the seventies Funkadelic they had a 'up in space' funk side aswell, Parliament, but i leave that for some other day. Funkadelic furthered the notions of black rock begun by Jimi Hendrix and Sly Stone, blending elements of '60s psychedelia and blues plus the deep groove of soul and funk. Their albums are rather more ethereal and abstract when compared to Parliament’s. Rather than tell the story of a cast of characters, the mythology of Funkadelic is a socially conscious spiritualism. After ripping these vinyls today i couldnt help thinking how influencial these guys have been, not to mention the high production values. Really enjoyed hearing them again. I've added the inside just don't get that anymore in these cd days...i have the " One Nation" version with the bonus ep but offered it as a seperate download..well worth it ..

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
Funkadelic was originally the backing band for the doo wop group, The Parliaments. The band was added in 1964, primarily for tours, after the army took them, George Clinton (the leader of The Parliaments) recruited Billy Bass Nelson and Eddie Hazel in 1967, then also adding Tawl Ross and Tiki Fulwood. They would later go on to add members of the famous James Brown backing band "The JB's" to the Funkadelic lineup, with the addition of brothers Bootsy & Catfish Collins.

Due to legal difficulties between Clinton and Revilot, The Parliaments' label, the name was abandoned in favor of Funkadelic, which consisted of the same group of people (that is, both the former Parliaments and their back-up band, now both combined in the name "Funkadelic"). The group signed to Westbound in 1968. The group's self-titled debut album, Funkadelic, was released in 1970. The credits listed organist Mickey Atkins plus Clinton, Fulwood, Hazel, Nelson and Ross, though the actual recording also included several uncredited sessionmen then employed by Motown, as well as Ray Monette and Bernie Worrell.

Bernie Worrell was officially credited starting with Funkadelic's second album, 1970's Free Your Mind... and Your Ass Will Follow, thus beginning a long collaboration between Worrell and Clinton (who had been friends for quite a while). Worrell would go on to produce many Parliament and Funkadelic albums, as well as play keyboard on albums by other members of P Funk. After the release of Maggot Brain in 1971, Bootsy and Catfish Collins joined the group. The group would go on to become major contributors to the P-Funk sound. In 1972, this new line-up released America Eats Its Young, but many members left the group after that, due to internal squabbles and drug problems.

1975 brought Funkadelic to Warner Brothers, and saw the release of Hardcore Jollies in 1976. The same year, Westbound released a compilation of archived tracks titled Tales of Kidd Funkadelic, which did commercially significantly better than Hardcore Jollies and included "Undisco Kidd", an R&B Top 30 single. In 1977, Westbound capitalized on the success of Tales of Kidd Funkadelic by releasing The Best of the Early Years. Funkadelic recorded and released its magnum opus, One Nation Under a Groove in 1978. The titular track spent six weeks at #1 on the R&B charts, while Parliament was enjoying success with "Flash Light" and "Aqua Boogie." Uncle Jam Wants You continued Funkadelic's new more electronic sound production. The album contains fifteen minutes long version of chart-topping "(Not Just) Knee Deep". The last album, The Electric Spanking of War Babies, was released in 1981, and has a very good reputation among the funk music listeners despite the fact that it yielded no hit singles..

As the 1980s wore on, with legal difficulties arising from the multiple names used by multiple groups, as well as a shakeup among Parliament's record label, Parliament and Funkadelic disintegrated. George Clinton recorded several solo albums (sometimes under the name George Clinton & the P.Funk All-Stars)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Funkadelic - Maggot Brain ( 71 ^ 87mb)

One central concept is Maggot Brain (Maggot Brain, 1971), which is an unenlightened small-mindedness, and which must be overcome for humanity to avoid its destruction and decay. It is explicitly ascribed to the titular junkie in "Super Stupid," who has "lost the fight" with fear. Other songs on the album advocate universal love, peace, and brotherhood, and war is explicitly compared to insanity in "Back In Our Minds." The album ends on an apocalyptic note with "Wars of Armageddon," in which the sound of a crying baby can be taken as a direct reference to the speech at the beginning of the title track: "Mother Earth is pregnant for the third time, for y'all have knocked her up." With its noisy improvisation and activist chanting, the track appears to depict a final confrontation between good and evil.

01 - Maggot Brain (10:19)
02 - Can You Get To That (2:49)
03 - Hit It And Quit It (3:49)
04 - You And Your Folks, Me And My Folks (3:34)
05 - Super Stupid (3:56)
06 - Back In Our Minds (2:36)
07 - Wars Of Armageddon (9:39)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Funkadelic - One Nation Under A Groove (78 ^ 95mb)

One Nation Under a Groove introduces Funkadelica, a nation wherein the Funk rules and can’t be either stopped or labeled. The people of Funkadelica are called Funkateers (as are P Funk fans) and are led by Uncle Jam. Their mission is to rescue dance music from the doldrums (unFunkiness) This album is the pinnacle of Clinton's political consciousness. It's unified by a refusal to acknowledge boundaries -- social, sexual, or musical -- and, by extension, the uptight society that created them. The tone is positive, not militant -- this funk is about community, freedom, and independence, and you can hear it in every cut.

01 - One Nation Under A Groove (7:30)
02 - Grooveallegiance (7:00)
03 - Who Says A Funk Band Can't Play Rock? (6:14)
04 - Promentalshitbackwashpsychosis Enema Squad (The Doo Doo Chashers) (10:57)
05 - In To You (5:40)
06 - Cholly (Funk Getting Ready To Roll!) (4:25)

Funkadelic - One Nation Under A Groove bonus ep ( ^ 38mb)
07 - Maggot Brain (live)(7:32)
08 - Chant (Think It Ain't Illegal Yet!) (0:48)
09 - Lunchmeataphobia (Think! It Ain't Illegal Yet!) (4:14)
10 - P.E. Squad / Doo Doo Chasers (4:16)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Funkadelic - The Electric Spanking Of War Babies (81 ^ 99 mb)

The phrase "electric spanking of war babies" refers to what George Clinton saw as the U.S. government using the media to promote imperialistic wars. To the funk innovator , the American media functioned as a propaganda machine during wartime. But whether or not one cares to examine its hidden political messages, Electric Spanking is a party album..

01 - The Electric Spanking Of War Babies (8:37)
02 - Electro-Cuties (6:16)
03 - Funk Gets Stronger (Part I) (6:37)
04 - Brettino's Bounce (3:40)
05 - Funk Gets Stronger (Killer Millimeter Longer Version) - She Loves You (4:41)
06 - Shockwaves (5:07)
07 - Oh, I (4:54)
08 - Icka Prick (4:05)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
All downloads are in * ogg-7 (224k) or ^ ogg-9(320k), artwork is included , if in need get the nifty ogg encoder/decoder here !

No comments:

Post a Comment