Friday, November 9, 2007

Into The BPM (05)

Hello after last weeks DnB i take a few steps back in time when Bass mated with the Roland TB-303 electronic synthesizer-sequencer.

Acid house was originally an experimental offshoot of Chicago House music (Phuture's 1986 Acid Trax was one influential example), acid house came to denote a sensibility that radically altered club culture worldwide. After the Ecstacy-fuelled summer of 1987 on the Spanish holiday island of Ibiza, several influential British DJs used acid house as a jumping-off point for a new eclecticism. Acid house is the purest, barest distillation of house, the outer limit of its logic of inhuman functionalism. With acid, black music has never been so alien-ated from traditional notions of `blackness' (fluid, grooving, warm), never been so close to to the frigid, mechanical, supremely `white' perversion of funk perpetrated by early eighties pioneers like D.A.F. and Cabaret Voltaire.the trance-inducing effects of repetion and dub production; a fascination for the pristine hygiene and metronome rhythms of German electronic dance. Pure acid tracks like Tyree's `Acid Over' recall the brute, inelastic minimalism of D.A.F. - it consists of nothing but a bass synth sequencer pulse reiterated with slight warps and eerie inflections.

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Various - House Hallucinates (88 * 132mb)

This is a great acid compilation, my personal favourite remains Phuture Will Survive, great bass drone also here is the Phuture track that supposedly started it all-as way back as 85, Phuture - Acid Trax, well there's more great trackks here from 20 years ago and it can be said this started the rave scene that would dominate the next decade.

House Hallucinates 1
01 - Sleezy D - I've Lost Control (Space Mix) (9:42)
02 - Phuture - Acid Trax (12:13)
03 - Jungle Wonz - Time Marches On (6:58)
04 - Farley "Jackmaster" Funk - Jack The Bass (6:37)
05 - Maurice - This Is Acid (4:54)
House Hallucinates 2
06 - Liddell Townsell - As Acid Turns (5:08)
07 - Jack Frost - Clap Me (6:45)
08 - Mr. Lee - Pump Up London (Dub Mix) (4:15)
09 - Liddell Townsell - The Groove (5:07)
10 - Phuture - Phuture Will Survive (8:39)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Tekno Acid Beat (88 ^ 88mb)

When Genesis P'Orridge walked into a Chicago recordstore and asked the clerk for the weirdest records on hand, he was pointed to the "acid house" section. Now that rang some sacred bells so he picked up some up to listen trying to figure out what made them psychedelic, and concluded that the tempo was the key element. He brought the sounds back to England and began developing with his band Psychic TV a more psychedelic sounding acid house music.
Tekno Acid Beat is not actually various artists compilations as these are collections of tracks from Psychic TV under different aliases. It involved Psychic TV founder and mainstay Genesis P'Orridge and future Grid members Richard Norris and Dave Ball. The material was created during the beginning of Psychic TV's acid house phase (and during the beginning of acid house itself). This collection of tracks are constructed imaginatively and draws samples from 1960s exploitation films to Middle Eastern music into the mix. Jack the Tab/Tekno Acid Beat stands out as an excellent example of late 1980s underground electronic/club music.

01 - DJ Doktor Megatrip With Luv Bass - Joy (Joy-Orgasm-Youth) (5:21)
02 - Sickmob - Sandoz Tabman (5:23)
03 - Jack The Tab And Mistress Mix - Wicked (6:39)
04 - Sugardog - Groove To Get Down (4:51)
05 - Virginia - Blue Pyramid (5:19)
06 - Safe - Godzilla Vs The Space Mutants (4:11)
07 - DJ Doktor Megatrip & Mista Luv - Liquid Eyeliner (5:57)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Tyree - Tyree's Got A Brand New House ( 88 ^ 97mb)

It probably all began with the old R & B dusties of his mother, Tyree Cooper was impassionedly listening to.
Growing up on the streets of Chicago’s South Side Tyree Cooper discovered his love for the soul music of the 60ies.
Two years after college Tyree was already one of the most popular and highly sought-after DJs in Chicago. Then Vince Lawrence, of the garage funk band “Jesse Gang“ persuaded Tyree to put together a demo tape of his music to start a career as a recording artist. It was only a question of time before signing the first record deal with the Chicago-based underground label D.J. International - that was in 1986. The first 12" – “I Fear The Night“ (with female vocalist 'Chic') - promptly became an underground classic in Chicago. Other hits followed: “Acid Over“(1988), “Turn Up The Bass“ (1988/89, “Let the Music Take Control “(1989) and “Hardcore Hip House“ (1989). That was the time when Tyree Cooper created a crossover version of house music together with his friend and fellow DJ 'Fast Eddie' Smith and which came to be known as hip house.

Tyree Cooper is now regarded as one of the most influential artists in the international house scene. Already looking back to a respectable discography Cooper founded his own label in 2002: Supa Dupa Recordings. Later one of the most important hip house tunes was released on Epic with the original and some new remix versions: “Turn Up The Bass“, which is surely one of the most important hip house tracks of all times. True to the scene Tyree still lives in Chicago spreading his roots also in Europe’s exciting capitol Berlin - doing what he does best.... spinning and traveling to Europe for gigs and producing new tracks on his own record label Supa Dupa Records and of course together with shik stylkö for realbasic recordings.

01 - Acid Over (4:34)
02 - T.J.G.P. (4:23)
03 - Life (5:02)
04 - Let's Get Together (6:06)
05 - Turn Up The Bass (Voc.Kool Rock Steady) (5:08)
06 - House Line (4:03)
07 - Never Let You Go (5:55)
08 - Acid Overture (4:09)
09 - Acid Is My Life (4:21)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
All downloads are in * ogg-7 (224k) or ^ ogg-9(320k), artwork is included , if in need get the nifty ogg encoder/decoder here !

No comments:

Post a Comment