Friday, October 19, 2007

Into the BPM (2)

Hello, going into the BPM at the start of the second week of Rhotation. I have to say im a bit dissapointed feedback wise. I've been very busy re-uploading and tracking back have reached Ireland by now. As you may have noted i use several different webspace providers and i ask again here to tell me if you had any particular problems and or good download speeds, if so i wont bother with them anymore. For today i have two early techno crews, over the years 808 state's ex el has had many a spin at my place, great album, full sound , sure there's a little New Order there but thats alright with me, and Bjork well i 'm sure she got a lot of inspiration for "Debut" from working with them, on ex el she sounds awesome . Fluke managed to find their techno feet pretty quick as the bonus album, de facto their first proves. The build a massive remix catalogue as their sound was saught after, meanwhile they scored some big hits. No Atom Bomb here but Six Whheels offers a nice range of what was to come after ..

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
808 State - ex:el (91 ^ 133mb)

808 State was formed in 1988 in Bury, England by Martin Price, Graham Massey and Gerald Simpson, initially to form a hip-hop group called Hit Squad Manchester. Soon after the band shifted to an acid house sound, and recorded their debut Newbuild in 1988, naming themselves 808 State honoring the impact the Roland TR-808 drummachine had on them. The album was released on Price's own record label. Simpson left the group in 1989 to form his own solo project, A Guy Called Gerald.Martin and Graham enlisted DJs. Andrew Barker and Darren Partington to record the EP Quadrastate and their next album, Ninety, was put them right in the rave culture.

For 1991 Ex:el, they brought in Bernard Sumner (New Order) and ex-Sugarcubes Björk for lyrics and vocals. The album included the hits In Yer Face, Cubik, Olympic & Lift. In 1992, Price left the group to perform solo producing, eventually forming his own label, Sun Text. The remaining members released a fourth album called Gorgeous, and after that, did some remix work for David Bowie, Soundgarden, and other performers, before returning with the album entitled Don Solaris in 1996. This album marked a change for the band who wanted to shake off their rave moniker and, with 'Don Solaris', they aimed to create a more beautiful, cinemascopic sound. They released a greatest-hits compilation named 808:88:98 in 1998-their last on record label ZTT and a 1998 remix of Pacific soared high in the charts. In 2000, their pioneering 1988 acid house album 'Newbuild' was re-released.In 2003 came their last release thusfar Outpost Transmission .

01 - San Francisco (4:56)
02 - Spanish Heart (Voc. Bernard Sumner) (3:51)
03 - Leo Leo (4:01)
04 - Qmart ( Voc.Björk) (4:58)
05 - Nephatti (4:49)
06 - Lift (5:12)
07 - Ooops ( Voc.Björk) (4:41)
08 - Empire (4:20)
09 - In Yer Face (5:12)
10 - Cübik (9:28)
11 - Lambrusco Cowboy (4:05)
12 - Techno Bell (4:55)
13 - Olympic (4:21)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Fluke - Six Wheels On My Wagon (93 * 119mb)

To date Fluke have produced five original studio albums, two "best of" compilations and two live albums. Throughout their career they have made several changes to their line-up with credited appearances attributed to Neil Davenport playing guitars, Robin Goodridge on drums and Hugh Bryder as a DJ. Formed in the late 1980's by three friends living together in London, Fluke started out making dreamy pop before the explosion of acid house influenced them. It was the growing electronica sound that influenced their early singles and their techno-rock debut album The Techno Rose Of Blighty. They signed with Virgin for their next albums Six Wheels On My Wagon (1993) and , the following year Fluke released their third album, Oto, which is the Greek for "of the ear". In terms of style, Oto was somewhat darker than Six Wheels on my Wagon, focusing on the downbeat ambient effects which were present in the second half of Six Wheels. Fluke proved to be a driving force in the progressive house and trip-hop scenes.
In 1996 they released "Atom Bomb", originally created as a soundtrack to the video game Wipeout 2097, it became the centrepiece of their next album, Risotto.It was a runaway success in 1997 and 1998, powered by the cartoony big-beat of "Atom Bomb" and the gentle breakbeat track "Reeferendum". After enjoying worldwide touring for several years, Fluke took time off to expand their already-massive remixography, releasing the retrospective Progressive History X in 2001. Their latest and most mature album, Puppy, followed in mid-2003, this time incorporating Jon Fugler and Mike Bryant only.

01 - Groovy Feeling (Make Mine A 99) (7:12)
02 - Letters (6:40)
03 - Glidub (6:15)
04 - Electric Guitar (Humbucker) (7:24)
05 - Top of the World (5:39)
06 - Slid (Pdfmone) (7:40)
07 - Slowmotion (5:10)
08 - Spacey (Catch 22 Dub) (6:08)
09 - Astrosapiens (6:48)
10 - Oh Yeah (5:46)
11 - Eko (5:21)
12 - Life Support (6:28)

Fluke - The Techno Rose Of Blighty - Limited Bonus Disc (93 ^ 99mb )

01 - Philly (7:06)
02 - Glorious (5:53)
03 - Cool Hand Flute (3:54)
04 - Joni (5:15)
05 - Easy Peasy (4:09)
06 - Phin (6:30)
07 - Jig (5:05)
08 - Taxi (4:12)
09 - Coolest (2:54)

Fluke @ Base

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
All downloads are in * ogg-7 (224k) or ^ ogg-9(320k), artwork is included , if in need get the nifty ogg encoder/decoder here !

No comments:

Post a Comment