Friday, March 4, 2011

RhoDeo 1109 Beats

Hello, i had to last minute change my post today as i had planned to post two live dance albums, unfortunately DVD audio extractor refused to work on Faithless's live at Alexandra Palace dvd, pity, simpler ripping tools just couldn't handle the 5 channels either. Oh well so i decided to keep it all Underworld today, i added 2 great EP's which i think shaped the way they and their live show developped. Party......

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

When at first you don't succeed...Hyde and Smith began their musical partnership with the Kraftwerk and reggae-inspired sounds of while studying together at Cardiff Art College. In 1983 they recorded two albums for CBS Records with a proto-electroclash new romantic band whose name was a graphic squiggle, which (this being a relatively unknown band and many years before Prince became "Love Symbol") was soon given a pronunciation, Freur...doot doot .Freur disbanded in 1986. In 1987 members of Freur created the band Underworld and tried a more guitar-orientated funky electropop sound "Underneath the Radar"and Change the Weather.After a break (to concentrate on, among other things, art/design project Tomato), Hyde and Smith recruited Essex DJ Darren Emerson, and after several minor releases and remixes as Lemon Interupt and Steppin' Razor readopted the Underworld moniker.

The trio's first full-length, Dubnobasswithmyheadman, was released in 1993 to rave reviews and is still considered a landmark piece of work today. It spawned several hit singles ("Dark & Long", "Cowgirl", "Dirty Epic") and was followed a couple years later by the "Born Slippy" single and their second album, Second Toughest In The Infants (1996). The unusual name of the album as released derives from a comment made by Smith's six-year old nephew Simon Prosser when asked on his progress at school. Both the single and the album showed Underworld maturing as a trio, mixing elements of techno, house, drum and bass and pop music to spectacular effect.

Underworld's well-praised remixography also continued to grow, including artists such as Björk, Saint Etienne, Simply Red, Massive Attack and Leftfield. After licensing a remix of "Born Slippy" for the 1996 cult classic film Trainspotting, Underworld gained instant worldwide fame and found themselves touring furiously, presenting their renowned, high-energy live act worldwide. Their fame continued to run high through the release of Beaucoup Fish (1999) and Everything, Everything (2000), after which time Emerson left the group to concentrate on his DJ career.

The duo continued on, releasing the album A Hundred Days Off in 2002 and an anthology release, 1992–2002 in 2003. From 2004–2006, they took a break from the traditional album/tour cycle, and focused on soundtrack work and online digital EP releases as part of The RiverRun Project.In late 2005 they released two compilations of new songs with accompanying photographs on Underworld Live, Lovely Broken Thing and Pizza for Eggs. These were only released online, june 2006, they released their third instalment, I'm a Big Sister, and I'm a Girl, and I'm a Princess, and This Is My Horse. July 2006, they released a special retrospective mix, called The Misterons Mix, which is comprised of tracks from the three previous Riverrun releases.

Underworld added DJ Darren Price to their live lineup during this period. In 2006, Underworld and Gabriel Yared composed the music score to Anthony Minghella's film Breaking and Entering. Underworld 's latest album, Oblivion with Bells, was released on October 16th, 2007. Underworld have been experimenting and selling recordings of their live performance at the venue, 15 minutes after the show had finished, the first time they did this was a 3xCD set called Live in Tokyo in 2005. A full world tour has been announced to support the new studio album, illness prevented the planned kick off time but they've been catching up in 2008, with their tour dates in the United States, Europe, and Japan. This summer they'll be doing a number of festivals around the globe-see their mypage.

On May 13, 2010, the band released a track called "Scribble" for download on the band's site.The track shares elements with "You Do Scribble", an unreleased song which they featured many times since 2005 in their live performance shows. The group also released a video clip for "Scribble" on YouTube. It has been commercially released on June 28 as the lead single from their latest album. On June 7, 2010, Underworld announced the details of their eighth studio album, Barking, which was released on September 13, 2010 in the UK. The album features collaborations with German trance producer Paul van Dyk and British house artists Mark Knight and D. Ramirez, among others.

In December 2010 it was announced that Underworld will be reuniting with Trainspotting director Danny Boyle to write the musical score for his production of Frankenstein at the Royal National Theatre. Though there are no plans yet to make the soundtrack available for purchase, the production will be broadcast as a part of National Theatre Live on the 17 March 2011.

In addition to their music, Hyde and Smith are also founding members of a graphic design company, Tomato, which has done high-profile work for clients around the world as well as providing art for all of Underworld's releases. Hyde, along with John Warwicker of Tomato, has published two typographic journals as Underworld Print: Mmm... Skyscraper, I Love You (1994) and In The Belly Of Saint Paul (2003). Underworld Print began publishing the monthly Book of Jam in October 2007, which focuses on a different theme in each issue.

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Recorded in Brussels 22/5/99 during the Beaucoup Fish World Tour

A companion DVD was released separately soon after the album's release. The DVD features live footage of the band mixed with videography and artistic effects by the design group Tomato, with Jono Griffith of Ernest Edits as 'Creative Editor'. The DVD also features several songs not on the album - "Moaner", "Puppies", "Kittens", and "Rowla".

Underworld - Everything, Everything (174mb)

1 Juanita / Kiteless 12:53
2 Cups 3:26
3 Push Upstairs 7:28
4 Pearls Girl 8:17
5 Jumbo 8:33
6 Shudder / King Of Snake 12:17
7 Born Slippy Nuxx 10:56
8 Rez / Cowgirl 11:47

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Amazing deep house going on here with ends what is basicly an ambient dub version 215 miles

Underworld - Dark & Long (92mb )

1 Dark & Long (Hall's Mix) 4:08
2 Dark & Long (Dark Train) 9:51
3 Dark & Long (Most 'Ospitable) 5:53
4 Dark & Long (215 Miles) 20:02

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Basicly a double EP released in the US only, plenty to njoy here

Underworld - Dirty Epic - Cowgirl (171mb)

1 Dirty Epic(Dirty Guitar Mix)10:00
2 Dirty Epic(Dirty Mix)11:14
3 Dirty Epic(Album Version)9:52
4 Cowgirl(Irish Pub In Kyoto Mix)11:45
5 Cowgirl(Winjer Mix)6:25
6 Cowgirl(Album Version)9:55
7 Rez 9:57
8 River Of Bass 6:26

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

No comments:

Post a Comment