Monday, August 25, 2008

Around The World (43)

Hello, Around the Worldmusics stays in the latin corner, be it that Yerba Buena came together in The NY melting pot. They took it upon themselves to update Latin music with touches to intrigue listeners who wouldn't normally be listening to it. Considering that President Alien got the Latin Grammy, they were tremendously successful at it as this aint a studio project but a great live band aswell.

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
Yerba Buena! - President Alien (03 ^ 99mb)

The Latin American collective Yerba Buena was organized by producer and multi-instrumentalist Andres Levin, a native Venezuelan who'd appeared on records by Marisa Monte, Arto Lindsay, Aterciopelados, and Tina Turner, as well as helming the critically acclaimed Fela Kuti tribute Red Hot + Riot. Yerba Buena arose from Levin's wish to bring together a band capable of melding forms old and new, learning from each other in the form of a school. Gradually, the lineup coalesced, including vocalists Xiomara Laugart, Cucu Diamantes, and El Chino, percussionist Pedro Martinez, reed player Ron Blake, trumpeter Rashawn Ross, bassist Sebastian Steinberg, drummers Terreon "Tank" Gully and Horacio "El Negro" Hernandez.

Yerba Buena's music is a blend of African-rooted Latin music (Cuban Rumba, Colombian cumbia, Pan-Caribbean Soca, and Nuyorican Boogaloo) with hip-hop, Nigerian Afrobeat with a dash of Middle Eastern themes. The band is perfectly fluent and a powerhouse unit, while the roster of guests is startling in its variety -- Carlinhos Brown, Bobby Valentin, Me'Shell NdegéOcello, Money Mark, Marc Ribot, and Roy Hargrove, among many others.

01 - Guajira ( I Love U 2 Much) (4:09)
02 - Tu Casa, Mi Casa (4:19)
03 - La Gringa (5:19)
04 - Solito Me Quede (6:03)
05 - Electric Boogaloo (4:00)
06 - Fire (4:31)
07 - Wassamatter Baby (4:08)
08 - Bote Bote Va (2:51)
09 - Follow Me (4:46)
10 - Definition Of A Warrior (4:06)
11 - Rompe El Cuero (5:24)
12 - Solar (3:52)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
All downloads are in * ogg-7 (224k) or ^ ogg-9(320k), artwork is included , if in need get the nifty ogg encoder/decoder here !

No comments:

Post a Comment